Hi. I’m 16. I mean, 26.

My dear friends, it hath been too long.

College is in full swing. Reading every night, papers in excess, and drunken wild beasts running around outside of my window on Wednesday nights. The melodies of delight.

Basically, what this means, is that I need to prioritize my time better in order to bring you written snippets of fun more frequently. I enjoy writing them,  it’s just time I do not always have. Cry me a river, right?

My roommate is on the phone and she just said “keep me posted.” Who thinks of these sayings? When you say this one, for example, in context and quickly it doesn’t sound too strange. Take a moment to break it down. Keep me posted. To me this sounds like I should be tied to a post and you’re the one making this so. I don’t know, I’m over thinking it, but I just thought I would interject it into tonight’s thought stream. Please comment if you have any of your own.

I was catching up on the CW’s new show, “Vampire Diaries” (based on the books), and I started thinking about how the actors and actresses are supposed to be depicting kids in high school between the ages of 15 and 17, but they all really look to be in their twenties…which they most likely are. This is the case in almost every popular mainstream television sitcom set in high school that I can think of. The OC, One Tree Hill, Gossip Girl, The Vampire Diaries. None of these kids lead lives that simulate anything close to real life. “Oh hey Chad, are you going to study tonight?” “Nah, I don’t have any homework for the 4th night in a row.” “I think I’m just going to go to the cool hipster bar downtown again with everyone in the school, play some pool, and drink some beer that I’m not legally allowed to have, but can get from the bartender whenever I want.”

Realistic? I think not.

Then again, my mental tables are turned once more and I have to contemplate how entertaining these shows would be if they showed high school kids in what would be their realistic habitat. “Hey Chad, are you going to study tonight?” “Yeah man, I have 3 papers and a test tomorrow.” “I’m locking myself in my room all night and pounding back the coffee while nothing dramatic or unrealistically extravagant happens.”

Realistic? Yes. As entertaining? No.

The conclusion we’ve come to here is that, even those the life scenarios of the “high school kids” in these shows resemble nothing close to reality, it is going to keep the viewers watching and the money coming. I still think they should be able to find acting talent in the age groups appropriate to the grade, though. If they need to be “smoking hot,” so be it. I’m sure they could find bangin’ 16 year-old kids who have actual acting talent if they tried. The only downfall to this is that the 54-year-old men watching at home may feel a bit more sketchy drooling over a real 15 year-old as opposed to her current 25 year-old stand in.

As for me, I’m still going to continue watching The Vampire Diaries, Gossip Girl, and my complete seasons on DVD of The OC (they shouldn’t have killed Marissa off).

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

